Friday, April 09, 2010

Seven Song n' Dance Pulitzer Prize Winners*

*[in case any nerds like me needed them listed out]

In the spirit of Monday's 2010 Pulitzer Prize for Drama announcement, here's a list of the Magnificent Seven (the only 7 musicals to win ... also, no one calls then the Magnificent Seven):

1995-96: Rent, by Jonathan Larson
1984-85: Sunday in the Park With George, by James Lapine & Stephen Sondheim
1975-76: A Chorus Line, by Michael Bennett, James Kirkwood, Nicholas Dante, Marvin Hamlisch, & Edward Kleban
1961-62: How To Succeed in Business Without Really Trying, by Abe Burrows, Willie Gilbert, Jack Weinstock, & Frank Loesser
1959-60: Fiorello!, by Jerome Weidman, George Abbott, Sheldon Harnick, & Jerry Bock
1949-50: South Pacific, by Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II, & Joshua Logan
1931-32: Of Thee I Sing, by George S. Kaufman, Morrie Ryskind, Ira & George Gershwin

I just noticed something: every decade's had 1 musical winner except for the 2000s. Way to drop the ball, modern composers. Maybe 2010-2019 will see two winners? Eh, eh? ::as much of an Optimistic Olly he is, he doesn't hold his breath::

No comments: